Multan Sultans Record Unbeaten, Peshawar Defeats Zalmi

In the 13th match of PSL 7, Multan Sultans maintained their unbeaten record and defeated Peshawar Zalmi. 

In the 13th match of the 7th edition of Pakistan Super League held at National Stadium in Karachi, Multan Sultans batted first and scored 222 runs for the loss of 3 wickets in the stipulated 20 overs thanks to the aggressive innings of Tim David and Khushdal Shah. Zalmai’s team managed to score only 165 runs for the loss of 8 wickets.

In pursuit of the target, Peshawar Zalmi’s batsmen proved to be a wall of sand in front of the powerful bowling of league spinner Imran Tahir and fast bowler Shahnawaz Dhani.

Kamran Akmal and Hazratullah Zazai started the innings for Peshawar Zalmai but Kamran Akmal fell victim to Shahnawaz Dhani after scoring 10 runs after which Haider Ali came to bat and he scored 24 runs off 12 balls. However, Shahnawaz Dhani sent him back to the pavilion.

Opening batsman Hazratullah Zazai managed to score 43 runs off 32 balls after which he fell victim to Imran Tahir while other batsmen could not stay on the wicket for long.

Shoaib Malik was the guest of 11 runs and Sherfan Rutherford’s innings was limited to 2 runs, captain Wahab Riaz 2 and Usman Qadir managed to score 12 runs while Mohammad Omar lost his wicket for 3 runs.

Ben Cutting, on the other hand, remained on the wicket till the end and also completed his first half century this season, but he could not lead his team to victory. He managed to score 52 runs off 31 balls with the help of sixes and 3 fours in his innings.

From Multan Sultans, Shahnawaz Dhani and Imran Tahir took 3 wickets each while Blessing Mazarabani and Abbas Afridi took one wicket each.

Earlier, Peshawar Zalmi’s captain Wahab Riaz won the toss and invited Multan Sultans to bat. Captain Muhammad Rizwan and Shaun Masood gave the team a good start of 85 runs but Shaun Masood played an innings of 35 off 25 balls. Kar returned to the pavilion.

After which Sohaib Maqsood came for batting and was dismissed for 25 runs off 17 balls. On the other hand, captain Mohammad Rizwan continued his responsible innings and scored another half century.

Tim David and Mohammad Rizwan formed an aggressive 69-run partnership. Meanwhile, Tim David scored a half-century off 18 balls and thus equaled Islamabad United’s Paul Sterling in the fastest half-century in the PSL.

Mohammad Rizwan played an innings of 82 off 53 balls which included one six and eight fours while Tim David returned unbeaten with an innings of 51 runs consisting of six sixes and two fours and Khushdal Shah hit 21 off just seven balls. Played innings of runs.

Shoaib Malik, Usman Qadir and Salman Irshad took one wicket each for Peshawar Zalmai.

Multan Sultans have made 3 changes in the team. Roman Raees, Riley Rousseau and David Wiley have been replaced by Blessing Mazrabani, Johnson Charles and Shahnawaz Dhani, while Peshawar Zalmi has made a change to Saqib Mehmood and replaced Hussain Talat.

In the previous match, Lahore Qalandars had defeated Islamabad United after a very interesting contest.